The AFL has confirmed changes to the 2020 AFL season amid the coronavirus crisis. 

On Monday afternoon, Chief Executive Officer of the AFL Gillon McLachlan announced that the premiership season will be reduced to 17 rounds, which will mean each team will play each other once.

The first four rounds will go ahead as planned before the new schedule is released.

It follows the announcement that the VFL and other premier state leagues and talent programs had been pushed back until May 31.

Mr McLauchlan also revealed that a decision on round one, which is due to begin on Thursday will be made in the next 24 hours. It will depend on a players meeting which will be held tonight.

This decision will also include AFLW which will enter round seven on the weekend.






Want more? Here's a bit we love from Will & Woody – catch the boys weekdays from 4PM on KIIS101.1!