KIIS 101.1
NON-STOP KIIS

Now Playing:

Loading...
Listen on

Best and worst of the #10yearchallenge social media trend

There’s a new social media trend all over our newsfeeds this week and thankfully it doesn’t involve eating dishwashing powder or pouring ice on ourselves.

This time, the world’s famous, not-that-famous, and the not-even-close-to-famous, are posting two photos of themselves side-by-side but from ten years apart for comparison, with the hashtag #10yearchallenge.

Some might say is a thinly veiled excuse to show off how good we used to look, or how little ageing we’ve done in the past decade.

And yeah, the people who say that might have a point but not only are they real downers, we’ve also noticed the #10yearchallenge feed has plenty of hilarity and positivity amongst the FIGJAMs and thirst trappers.

Here’s some of what has been posted with #10yearchallenge in recent days…

Reese Witherspoon

"Time sure does fly when you're having fun," says Reese.

Jessica Biel

What a difference ten years can make! Although I do still have a lot of ❤️ for my tan lines, hoops and blonde days," says Jessica.

Amy Schumer

Amy posted a pic of Charlize Theron's role as a serial killer in Monster as a comparison to her picture being pregnant!

View this post on Instagram

2009/2019 challenge

A post shared by @ amyschumer on

Tyra Banks

Tyra went back 27 years instead of ten to when she was 18!

Isla Fisher

"I was stretchmark/spanx/diaper free a decade ago," points out Isla.

View this post on Instagram

I was stretchmark/spanx/diaper free a decade ago #10yearchallenge

A post shared by Isla Fisher (@islafisher) on

Armin Van Buuren

The Dutch DJ instead took the chance to look ten years into the future and found... Gordon Ramsey!

View this post on Instagram

#10yearchallenge

A post shared by Armin van Buuren (@arminvanbuuren) on

Sarah Hyland

"Started growing out my brows and stopped wearing a bra. Hoops stay though. Hoops are forever," observed Sarah Hyland.

View this post on Instagram

Started growing out my brows and stopped wearing a bra. Hoops stay though. Hoops are forever. #2008 - #2018 #tenyearchallenge

A post shared by Sarah Hyland (@sarahhyland) on

J.Lo

We definitely got the point of J.Lo's post.

View this post on Instagram

#10yearchallenge #challengeaccepted ♥️

A post shared by Jennifer Lopez (@jlo) on

Anne Hathaway

"Check out 2009 me trying so hard not to do anything wrong. Check out 2019 me doing what feels right. Wicked sweet," wrote Anne.

Ellen DeGeneres

Ellen looked entirely the same and found a way to give us a laugh about it. "I never realised how differently I hold my hand now," she wrote.

View this post on Instagram

#10yearchallenge. I never realized how differently I hold my hand now.

A post shared by Ellen (@theellenshow) on

Nicki Minaj

View this post on Instagram

🤪😅

A post shared by Barbie® (@nickiminaj) on

Ryan Seacrest

"When time and hair product are on your side (swipe right)," joked Seacrest.

View this post on Instagram

When time and hair product are on your side (swipe right) #10YearChallenge

A post shared by Ryan Seacrest (@ryanseacrest) on

Caitlyn Jenner

There wouldn't be many who could top Caitlyn Jenner for #10yearchallenge transformations.

View this post on Instagram

Now THAT is a #10YearChallenge Be authentic to yourself 💜

A post shared by Caitlyn Jenner (@caitlynjenner) on

Padma Lakshimi

"More like the 20-year challenge," wrote the 48-year-old model.

View this post on Instagram

Me after a sip of coconut water 🥥💧1999/2019.... not quite the #10yearchallenge. More like the #20yearchallenge!

A post shared by Padma Lakshmi (@padmalakshmi) on

Steve Aoki

DJ-cum-sensei.

View this post on Instagram

Wax on, wax off... #10yearchallenge

A post shared by Steve Aoki (@steveaoki) on

Brooke Shields

View this post on Instagram

I guess I’ll join in on the fun... #10yearchallenge

A post shared by Brooke Shields (@brookeshields) on

Typical swipe at Australian cricket team

Random ten-year-olds

Share this: